Cold Stratification in the Refrigerator

I tried the three month cold stratification in the refrigerator for a number of seeds. I use 2/3 peat moss and 1/3 fine sand and then made sure it was moist. After 3 months I took it out of the refrigerator and then made the mistake of leaving it on one of my tables for a couple of weeks. As you can see below, the seeds were ready to sprout. My “Lesson Learned” is that as soon as you pull your seeds out of the refrigerator, put them in a pot so they can sprout.

asclepias-currassavica-3months-in-frig

1 Comment

Filed under Seeds

One response to “Cold Stratification in the Refrigerator

  1. Alice Marty

    I use the ‘winter sow’ method. It lets Mother Nature do all the work. Look it up online.

Leave a Reply

