Mid-July Rejuvenation

July-rejuvenation

By July 15th, many of my plants have gone to seed and are done blooming. Most people would just let these plants keep growing and just taking up garden space. I choose to cut most of these down to the ground. The advantage is that they will come back and re-bloom and look very nice for a late summer season. Now this is not true for every plant, but for many I grow it is true. Maltese Cross, Salvia, Dianthus, Veronica and others will all give me a 2nd and sometimes a 3rd bloom. You can give them an extra boost of fertilizer, Miracle Gro or compost if you think they need it.

Some plants which don’t re-bloom, like Penstemon, I cut off the seed stalks so that I can get more sun onto the remaining plants.

Any plants that are diseased or don’t appear to be doing well are dug up and pitched.

I also use this time to fill-in with plants that I may have dug up from other spots.

You can also plant some annuals, like Zinnia, to fill-in some of these areas.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening

Leave a Reply

