Dyna Mix for Raised Beds

Dyna-Mix-01

I had a suggestion from a horticulture instructor at Meramec Community College on the potting mix they use. It’s call Hummerts Dyna-Mix for Raised Beds. For 2.8 cu ft. the cost is around $20.

They then suggest adding 12-12-12 to the mix when planting and then supplementing with Jack’s 20-20-20 water soluble fertilizer once a week.

I do like Jack’s fertilizer, but find it extremely expensive retail. Hummert’s does sell it for less, but then you need to buy a 25 pound bag for $45.60.

I’ve done some calculations and while they call this Dyna Mix product – Raised Bed Mix – it would be fairly expensive. For a 4′ x 8′ x 12″ bed, you would need 11.4 bags. At $20 a bag, that equals $228. You could buy the same amount of “Garden Mix” soil from St. Louis Composting for around $33.00.

2 Comments

Filed under soil

2 responses to “Dyna Mix for Raised Beds

  1. Jim & Judy Stroup

    Tom

    Maybe you can find a way to have taxpayers buy your potting mix like the instructor does?

    I make my own. Here’s what I do:

    I have had no yard waste pickup for over 15 years. It’s like Las Vegas. Everything that happens here stays here. I even mooch leaves from my neighbors! All “waste” goes through a chipper/shredder and is mixed with kitchen scraps minus fat and meat. I use a garden fork to turn the pile over when I’m in the mood. Maybe 3-4 times per year. When I plant a new tree, shrub or raised bed I dig out the clay and fill the hole with “Jim’s Mix”. The clay is then worked into the compost pile along with the shredded leaves, chipped limbs from my trees, garden waste etc. This method is not exactly what is recommended by horticulturists but it works. I have lots of produce and flowers every year.

    I try to not use any chemicals on anything if I can avoid it. Chicken manure is an excellent fertilizer! I have a source but if I tell you I’ll have to kill you 😉

    Jim Stroup-who has been enjoying fresh lettuce and spinach all winter from his cold frames.

    By the way, thank you for your newsletter. You make the world a better place!

  2. Sounds like a good system and keeps you in shape at the same time My back gave out about 30 years ago so I let St. Louis Composting do all my compost turning. Taking my 2nd horticulture class at Meramec – you would probably enjoy it also – the instructors are great.

Leave a Reply

