The Clover Butterfly Garden

I recently went to a school with plants to help them install a butterfly garden area. When I arrived I was initially dismayed since the entire area was filled with white clover. As I waited for the teacher and students to appear, butterflies started showing up all over the place.

In 30 minutes I saw: gray hairstreaks, painted ladies, red admiral, buckeye, cab. white, little yellow, orange sulphur and variegated fritillary (also laying eggs on violets)  – all nectaring on the clover.

I decided to put in my plants right in the clover and see what would happen. It’s an experiment which I normally wouldn’t do, but because it would have taken too much work to get rid of all the clover I decided to give it a try.

I wouldn’t normally recommend this, but I’ll check back in a couple of months and see how it’s going.

Leave a comment

Filed under Butterfly, Butterfly Gardening, Nectar Plant, soil

Leave a Reply

