Planting Seeds with a Board

If you’ve ever tried to space any seeds correctly as you plant them you’ll quickly find out how hard it is to do.

I came up with this idea to space my zinnia seeds so that I will reduce my thinning.

The board is just a scrap piece of 3.4″ plywood I had and I drilled 3/8″ holes 3 inches apart.

My zinnia packets came with 20 to 75 seeds in each packet. With the twenty seed packet I spaced the seeds in every other hole and with the 75 seeds I put in one seed in each hole.

I then covered up the seed with sand and lifted up the board. Now with the seeds clearly marked with sand I covered them up with top soil/fine mulch.

Here’s what the plants look like as of June 29th.

Leave a comment

Filed under Plant Propagation, Seeds

Leave a Reply

