Carnivorous Plants During the Winter

One of the problems I’ve had in the past is that when I either bring plants or cuttings inside and grow them under lights during the winter, I get an ever increasing population of small flying bugs. My son has the same problem in San Francisco as they have fruit flies around their organic waste container that they are mandated to keep for the trash. His solution is to grow carnivorous plants, Drosera, right next to the organics and it does attract and catch the small pesky flies.

I just bought two Drosera from petflytrap.com and hope to duplicate his success.

Update – Dec. 11 – I received two plants yesterday and placed them next to my bug infested plants. This morning I counted 17 bugs captured. Drosera capensis seems the most attractive with 16 of the bugs on this one plant. Note – Drosera spatulata also has plenty of bugs a few weeks later.

You do need to use distilled water for these plants. Keep their container submerged up to an inch or two.

I’m growing these in the basement under 24 hour fluorescent light, but it’s a bit cool – around 68 degrees. They still seem to be doing fairly well.

1 Comment

Filed under Pests

One response to “Carnivorous Plants During the Winter

  1. That is such a great idea. It’s so obvious I would never have thought of it. Thank you for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

