Rumex for Coppers

In 2008 I saw a Bronze Copper on one of my flowers for the first time and decided that I needed to find out what it needed as a host plant. It turns out that most varieties of Rumex will work in theory. In 2009 I planted Rumex acetosa, Rumex crispus, Rumex sanguineus and Rumex orbiculatus. This year, 2010, they are all coming back and seem to have a slight aggressive tendency in my well tended test plot. I’ve moved them over to another not so perfect spot, but still suspect they will do well. I still haven’t seen any egg laying activity, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Butterfly Gardening, Host Plant

Leave a Reply

