Japanese Beetles and the Cool Whip Death Trap

Two weeks ago I had an infestation of Japanese Beetles in my yard. I took a Cool Whip container, filled in half way with water and added a squirt of dishing washing liquid. I then went around, put the Cool Whip container under the beetles and tapped them on the shoulder. They’d fall in the liquid and drown. The first day I collected 200, the 2nd day 100, the 3rd day 50 beetles. Ever since then they haven’t been a problem. It’s interesting to note that my neighbor just two houses down has Japanese beetles all over her plants. I wonder what’s keeping them from flying to my yard? Maybe they’re heard about my “Cool Whip Death Trap.”

Japanese Beetles and Cool Whip Death Trap

Japanese Beetles and Cool Whip Death Trap

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Japanese Beetles and the Cool Whip Death Trap

  1. Hi~ I bought the bag, with bait and it was amazing the number of beetles it would catch. They are gross when they die in mass, leaving a terrible smell. I also used a bucket with a bit of water, but without the soap. I like your cool whip container idea because it is smaller and more manageable.

  2. I found this beetle in my front yard in my artichoke. 30 seconds later I would have boiled it.

Leave a Reply

