Vanilla Strawberry Hydrangea

I bought this Hydrangea paniculata ‘Vanilla Strawberry’ today at a local nursery. The nursery had ten available plants, but only one with a branch which was fairly straight. That’s the challenge you may also find if you’re looking to try this variety out and put it into a tree form. I couldn’t find any available online, so I decided to form it myself.

As the plant grows I’ll add more information on this particular variety and my attempt to change it from a bush to a tree.

If you look at the picture below from Park Seed, you’ll see the colors which I’m hoping to get.

vanilla strawberry

June 21st 2012 – see the picture below for what the flowers actually look like when they first come out.

Supposedly the blossoms will turn color over the weeks to come.
Here’s what the flower looks like as of July 12th.

1 Comment

Filed under Host Plant, Nectar Plant

One response to “Vanilla Strawberry Hydrangea

  1. I just planted my Vanilla Strawberry Hydrangea. I’m excited to see what happens but i want it to grow like a tree instead of it being bushy, didn’t realise i needed to look for a specific one. O well, will see what happen :)